Living and Working in Northwich

Northwich is a very vibrant town that has something for everyone!
It has recently secured £1m of private funding to invest in local infrastructure. 

Northwich history can be traced back to Roman times (known then as Condate) and sits at the confluence of the River Weaver and River Dane. Famed for its mining of salt the town is a thriving market town in the North West. To step back in time and explore the town’s rich history why not visit Weaver Hall Museum & Workhouse: http://weaverhall.westcheshiremuseums.co.uk/about-us/

Northwich is renowned for attracting high profile employers to the area due to the local graduate talent pool. Most notably at Gadbrook Park, which employs over 4000 people, you have the likes of Barclays, Morrisons, The Hut Group and Roberts Bakery to name a few.

The regeneration of Barons Quay in the heart of the town has transformed the landscape of Northwich dramatically. With big chain stores taking up residency in the shopping centre it has increased the footfall in and around the town markedly. Please visit Barons Quay website to keep up-to-date with the latest news: http://baronsquay.co.uk/

With free parking available at Barons Quay and a 5 screen Odeon cinema it makes for an enjoyable experience for whole family. There is also a good selection of eateries in and around Barons Quay with cuisine to suit every palate.

There are also small independent retailers in the High Street that offer the more niche goods and services. You have Bratts which is a long-established family-owned department store nestled on Witton Street that offers a wide range of concessions plus a restaurant on the top floor: https://brattsonline.co.uk/. Northwich bucks the trend for the typical UK high street as it is a hive of activity, particularly when the Artisan Market is on (second Saturday of the month). It’s a very worthwhile exhibition of local businesses showcasing their wares. You can discover more about what’s on offer by visiting the following website: http://themarketco.co.uk/markets/northwich-artisan-market/

Whether you’re after a light snack, grabbing a quick drink with friends after work or wanting a relaxed sit-down meal then look no further than Northwich. You’ve got everything from Costa to quirky bars to traditional pub fayre. Take a look at some of the top choices below:

Wildwood Northwich: https://wildwoodrestaurants.co.uk/restaurant/northwich/
Charlie’s Cafe & Sandwich Bar: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Charlies-Cafe/160939850586902
Bullring NW: https://whatpub.com/pubs/CNC/16954/bullring-nw-northwich
Kanya Bistro: https://www.kanyabistro.co.uk/
Barons Quay Social: https://www.facebook.com/baronsquaysocial/
The Salty Dog: https://salty-dog.co.uk/
Bombay Quay: http://bombayquaynorthwich.co.uk/
Barons Lounge: https://www.facebook.com/baronslounge.co.uk/
Bratts Coffee Shop: https://brattsonline.co.uk/coffee-shop-northwich/

Aside from the fantastic river walks and parks for young families there is plenty to choose from to keep yourself energised and entertained. Please see a list of venues below:

Brio Leisure. Has a swimming pool, gymnasium, community centre and lots more http://www.brioleisure.org/centres/northwich-memorial-court
Pure Gym https://www.puregym.com/gyms/northwich/
Dave’s Gym https://davesgym.co.uk/
Odeon Cinema Northwich Barons Quay https://www.odeon.co.uk/cinemas/northwich_barons_quay/223/

Northwich boasts a selection of top-performing primary, secondary and private schools with an envied reputation in the region. There is also a good offering of nurseries for childcare.

The County High School Leftwich: http://www.leftwichhigh.com/
Hartford Church of England High School: https://www.hartfordhigh.org.uk/
St. Nicholas Catholic High School: https://st-nicholas.cheshire.sch.uk/

Sir John Deane’s Sixth Form College: https://www.sjd.ac.uk/

The Grange School: https://www.grange.org.uk/
Cransley School: https://cransleyschool.com/

*the above list is not exhaustive

The transport infrastructure in Northwich is first class, from taxi companies to rail stations to bus routes. Getting about is very easy and Northwich is commutable to Liverpool, Manchester and Chester by road or rail.

Bus Information: https://bustimes.org/localities/northwich

Train Information:

Northwich: https://www.northernrailway.co.uk/stations/NWI
Hartford: https://www.northernrailway.co.uk/stations/HTF
Greenbank: https://www.northernrailway.co.uk/stations/GBK

Taxis:

Cheshire Executive Travel Northwich: https://www.cheshiretravelnorthwich.com/
Dean’s of Northwich: 01606 47300
GM Travel: http://www.taxinorthwich.co.uk/
JJ’s Taxis: 01606 76262

*the above list is not exhaustive

Arrange a free market appraisal

If you’re a landlord, looking to let or you’re just interested in how much your property might be worth, the best way to get an accurate and detailed understanding is through a free one-to-one appraisal with one of our experienced local agents. Request an appraisal with us using the form below.

  • By clicking submit you agree to the storage and use of your data in accordance with our Privacy Policy.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.